What is the Penalty for Criminal Possession of Marijuana in Alabama?
If you are facing a marijuana charge for possession, it is important to know the possible penalties in Alabama. Criminal charges for, not only marijuana possession, but also for the sale and distribution of marijuana, are established by both state and federal law, depending on the nature of the charge.
Criminal Penalties for Marijuana Possession Only
Possession of marijuana is a criminal offense in Alabama. If you are charged with possession for personal use only, it is considered a Class A misdemeanor. Possession for “personal use” means that you are found with less than one kilogram, or 2.2 pounds of marijuana. If you have no prior convictions under this same statute, then the maximum penalty is one year in jail and a fine of no more than $6,000.
If you have more than one kilogram of marijuana, or it is your second offense of possession for personal use, then it is considered a Class C felony, which is a much more serious charge. A class C felony marijuana possession charge is punishable by one to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
Additional Penalties for Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
Be aware that the possession of the drug itself is not the only possible charge. If you are also found with drug paraphernalia, you may be facing additional charges and penalties. What is considered drug paraphernalia? Anything used to grow, sell or use marijuana, including pipes. A first time conviction for possession of drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor. All subsequent violations are Class C felonies. Any drug paraphernalia that is seized is subject to forfeiture, under Alabama law.
If you have questions regarding marijuana possession charges, or any other criminal defense matters, please contact Ketcham Law, either online or by calling us at (205) 296-4233.