DUI In Alabama

Buzzed Driving is Still Drunk Driving

We all know there is a legal limit for blood alcohol, when it comes to drunk driving laws.  But many people do not realize that, even if your blood alcohol level is below the legal limit of .08%, you could still be charged with a DUI in Alabama. An officer can arrest you for DUI and cite you for being “under the influence” without a record of your actual blood alcohol content.

What is “buzzed” driving?

In Alabama, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for being charged with a DUI depends on your age.  If you are under age 21, then the limit is .02%.  For everyone over age 21, the limit is .08%.  If you are a commercial driver, meaning you have a CDL, then the limit is .04%.  Generally speaking, buzzed driving is classified as any blood alcohol level between .01% to .07%.  Remember, regardless of whether you are under the legal limit, you can still be charged with a DUI in Alabama.

$3.8 million verdict in a “buzzed” driving case

A teenager in Geneva County was driving while buzzed when he ran a stop sign and crashed into another vehicle.  The two passengers in the car he hit were seriously injured, as well as the other teenage passenger in his car. Although his blood alcohol level at the tie was only .059%, he was still sued in civil court by each of the victims.  The jury ultimately awarded $3.8 million in damages to the three victims. The lesson that should be taken from that incident is that, even if you do not feel as though you are intoxicated, you may still be held liable if you cause an accident while buzzed.

If you have questions regarding DUI in Alabama, or any other criminal defense matters, please contact Ketcham Law for a consultation either online or by calling us at (205) 296-4233.

 

This entry was posted in DUI. Bookmark the permalink.